Ready, Set, Post!

As it’s told, 2009 wasn’t the best year to graduate college. It was a difficult time to find a job, start a career, and more importantly, move out on your own to live out your twenties 🙂

But somehow I did, working at a Day Care, private tutoring, subbing, and starting my master’s program. Anything I could do to make a buck and survive, while somehow staying in my career field. 

I arrived at Ferguson Elementary School in February of 2011 to sub for a teacher that had the flu. It was a 5th grade classroom and I barely survived the day. Even still, I was asked to return the next day, and the next day.  Then, the principal informed me that she had pneumonia. So, I came back the next day and the next day. Until it was determined she had lung cancer. I finished out the year for her.

This class was a handful to say the least. Twenty-nine 5th graders in a new school who had lost their real teacher and was expected to listen to a 25 year old girl out of college? I don’t think so. They gave me a run for my money to say the least. Every day after I walked back to the classroom from walking the kids to the bus, I climbed the stairs where a veteran ESOL teacher made me repeat after her, “This will make me a better teacher. This will make me a better teacher.” I said it, but hardly believed it. 

That summer, when the teacher I was subbing for decided to take an indefinite leave of absence, I was offered her job. I went into her old room, now mine, determined to get it right. She left me a lot of supplies and stuff she thought I could use, and being the great teacher she was, had her name on all of it. I always felt like it was still her room and she was helping me out all along the way. She passed away in the spring of that year.

Though never really knowing this person, I made it through my first official year of teaching with her help, and then into my second. My second year was even better. Great kids, great coworkers, great lesson plans, which led to great test scores 🙂 Fast forward to now, into my 4th year, where everything is finally coming together. The lesson plans are better, the kids are better (or maybe I should say my classroom management is better), and I finally feel confident enough to feel the joy in teaching. Though everyone knows this journey is a daily one, with unimaginable ups and downs, I now know it’s worth it. 

So here comes this blogging adventure. I’ve researched, read, and pinned as much as I know possible. Check out my About Me page to follow me on all social media, as I share this journey with everyone. Ready, set, post!

Leave a comment